About us

For over 40 years now, premium classical guitars have been made in our workshop. However, the history of Sato Guitars goes back a lot further than that, taking us all the way back to the 1960s. In 1965 Kazuo began an apprenticeship in Tokio with the master luthier Nobe in Tokio. Six years later, in 1971, Kazuo went on to Oxford/England to the well known master luthier David Rubio. Under his guidance Kazuo began building lutes and guitars. Subsequently he founded his first workshop in Belgium in 1974. Two years later he relocated to Germany. He continues to come up with new ideas and innovations to drive the development of the traditional classical guitar to this very day. Kazuo‘s second passion in life is the photography (s. Flickr).
Foto: Oliver Dietze--Veroeffentlichung nur nach vorheriger Honorar-Vereinbarung und mit Namensnennung.Oliver Dietze // +49-(0)177-9761996 // post@oliverdietze.de // USt-ID DE262797891
His son Hideo who alongside with his brother, Takeo, learned playing guitar with Prof. Ansgar Krause, has pursued the work in the workshop with deep interest already in his early days. Despite his promising career as software researcher in Japan, he decided to devote himself fully to guitar making in 2011. After a couple of years of apprenticeship, he started to build guitars with his father in Germany. Building on his father’s rich experience, he now implements his own ideas in the business. Already his first guitars grabbed the attention of well-known guitarists around the world.
We enthusiastically support the guitar culture in our region by founding the classical guitar concert series „Best of Guitar“, acting as chair members of the non-profit organization „Kultur und Gitarre“, and funding the International Guitar Festival Augsburg.
We frequently collaborate with international guitarists in order to further improve the play- and tone characteristics of our guitars and raise them to a new level. In this regards, our most valuable resource has been the worldwide renowned guitarist and professor, Takeo , since the beginning of his career.
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Über uns

In unserer Werkstatt werden nun schon seit über 40 Jahren klassische Gitarren gefertigt. Die Anfänge liegen aber noch früher zurück. 1965 begann Kazuo Sato eine Lehre bei Gitarrenbaumeister Nobe in Tokio. Im Jahre 1971 begab er sich zu dem bekannten Meister David Rubio nach Oxford/England, unter dessen Leitung er über 4 Jahre Gitarren und Lauten baute und seine Fertigkeiten perfektionierte. In Belgien eröffnete er im Jahre 1974 seine erste Werkstatt und ließ sich zwei Jahre später in Deutschland nieder. Mit immer neuen Ideen und Innovationen treibt er bis heute die Entwicklung der traditionellen klassischen Gitarre voran. Kazuos zweite Leidenschaft ist die Fotografie (s. Flickr).
Foto: Oliver Dietze
--
Veroeffentlichung nur nach vorheriger Honorar-Vereinbarung und mit Namensnennung.

Oliver Dietze // +49-(0)177-9761996 // post@oliverdietze.de // USt-ID DE262797891
Sein Sohn Hideo, der wie sein Bruder bei Prof. Ansgar Krause klassische Gitarre lernte, verfolgte von früh an das Geschehen in der Werkstatt mit großem Interesse. 2011 entschied er trotz aussichtsreicher Karriere in der Softwarebranche in Japan sich voll dem Gitarrenbau zu widmen. Nach einer mehrjährigen Lehrzeit baut er zusammen mit seinem Vater klassische Konzertgitarren. Hideo nutzt den reichen Erfahrungsschatz seines Vaters und verwirklicht darauf basierend seine eigenen Ideen. Schon seine ersten Instrumente wurden von bekannten Gitarristen und Professoren gespielt und geschätzt.
Wir engagieren uns für Gitarrenkultur durch die Gründung der klassischen Konzertreihe „Best of Guitar“, die Arbeit als  Vorstandsmitglied der Gesellschaft “Kultur und Gitarre e.V.” und die Unterstützung des Int. Guit. Festivals Augsburg.
Für die ausgefeilte Entwicklung der Klang- und Spieleigenschaften arbeiten wir regelmäßig mit internationalen Künstlern zusammen. Der weltweit gefragte Konzertgitarrist und Professor Takeo ist seit dem Anfang seiner Karriere in dieser Hinsicht unser wichtigster Ratgeber.
de_DE
en_GB de_DE